Teaser scene from Orion-Marked Like Me Series

2014orion

The guy moved over the range and handed me the knives.  He couldn’t know what I could do, he was a Hunter.  I was not!

I nodded and decided to play along with his little game of helping the timid mouse.  At least, that’s how I felt until now.  I pretended to act clumsy with holding only four knives and watched as he instructed me to hold them his way.

“If you’ll put the butt of the knife in your palms and position your body just right to angle them down the range,” he said demonstrating now.  I watched with the best eager expression I could conjure so it seemed I was very interested in what he had to say.  I added nodding in the right places.  His face showed he was enjoying this.  I sideways glanced at some of the faces watching, even from the other ranges.  Tall, fair and handsome was putting on a show and everyone was enjoying his art and my newness.  I say fair because it certainly described his appearance but not his whole package.  Something dark lurked inside.  Maybe just a secret or two, but hidden. It loomed like a cloud above him, making his appearance that of a villain.

I waited very patiently to let him finish.  When he stepped back and threw two knives they hit the yellow inner circle, but not the very center.   Everyone gave an outward praising sigh for his ego and he peacocked up to the challenge.  He turned and walked by brushing my bare shoulder with his fingertips where the sleeves ended and whispered, “Just give it a try.”  Something electric jolted into my arm and hightailed it through my entire body. Something electric and unnameable.

I nodded with no readable expression.  I was good at that too.  But he’d felt it too.  And his face showed it.

One step further up the range I steadied knowing every eye near and most others had stopped to watch.  In fact, the echo within the gym was getting vastly quiet fast.  I held the knives the way I, a left-handed and skilled since the age of five fighter, had learn to hold them from my father many years ago.  I stopped a mere three steps before the wooden barrier where I’d always left the space I needed to torque my body just the perfect angle to release my knives into a target.  Only having to toss four was a cake walk.

I positioned just right, let out my breath like so, relaxed my arms, and…hesitated.  Yes, I hesitated.  They wanted me to fail!  I hid my fear by doing the opposite.  I’ll give my opponent something to remember me by.  I cocked my head, gave my cold green eyes to my enemy, and didn’t intend to blink once until it was all over.

Sucking in my breath, and with my only drawback, my vocal cords, I let out a smooth, swooping motion in a blur of two seconds flat, landing all four smack inside the center of the target.  My eyes never left his face.

About goodgamebooks

Cyndi Goodgame is a young adult author. Check out her books on Amazon and other book sellers.

Posted on April 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

